Help
Help
Search Help pages
(Does not search for items or products)
 Searchtips

Relisting your item


If your item doesn't sell the first time you list it, your buyer doesn't pay, you cancel the transaction or you end your listing early, you can offer an item for sale again by relisting it.

You can relist an item in 2 ways:

  • Manually relist - you can manually relist an item after the listing ends. Use this option when:

    • A listing ends, but the item doesn't sell.

    • The buyer doesn't pay.

    • You cancel the transaction.

    • You end your listing early.

  • Automatically relist - you can set your listing to relist automatically once more.

If you use Selling Manager, Selling Manager Pro or Seller Hub, you can also set your items up to relist automatically. Normal insertion fees apply to each automatic relisting. Learn more about listing and relisting items in Selling Manager, Selling Manager Pro and Seller Hub.

In some situations, you may be eligible for an insertion fee credit for manually relisted items. Learn more about receiving insertion fee credits.

Relisting an item automatically

As long as you've selected to relist your item automatically:

  • The first time your item doesn't sell, we will relist it for the same duration.

  • This relisting will be deducted from your monthly allowance of free listings if you haven't used these up yet. Otherwise, you will be charged a standard insertion fee.

  • When your item relists automatically, you will be charged for any optional listing features you selected at the time of the original listing, such as reserve price or scheduled start.

Things to keep in mind:

  • You can automatically relist both auction-style and fixed price listings.

  • When your item is relisted, it might not appear on the site for several hours after the initial listing ends.

  • Once you choose to relist your item automatically, you won't be able to relist it manually until the automatic relisting period on the item is over.

  • If the automatic relist was unsuccessful, you can relist your item manually. You'll see a message displayed in My eBay for the item that was unsuccessful.

  • Your eligibility to relist an item automatically is based on your transactions and sales. When you're eligible to relist an item automatically, you see the option in the listing form. You can see your transactions and sales in your Seller Dashboard in My eBay or in Seller Hub > Overview.

To relist your item automatically:

  • Click Sell at the top of most eBay pages.

  • Create your listing by describing the item, setting a price and selecting the postage options.

  • On the Review your listing page, select the Automatically relist this item if it doesn't sell tick box.

Cancel automatic relisting:

You can remove the Automatic relist feature from your listing at any time in My eBay or in Seller Hub.

To cancel your automatic relisting:

  • Go to My eBay > Activity > Selling > Active and locate your listing.

  • In the More actions drop-down menu, select Remove Automatic Relist.

  • Save your changes.

You can also access this in Seller Hub > Listings > Active, and locate your listing.

Relisting an item manually

To relist an item manually after the listing has ended:

  • Go to My eBay > Activity > Sold or Activity > Unsold.

  • From the More actions drop-down menu to the right of the listing, select Relist.

  • Make any changes to your listing and save.

You can also access this in Seller Hub > Listings > Active, and locate your listing.

Things to keep in mind:

  • When you manually relist an auction-style listing and the item sells during the second listing, you may be eligible for an insertion fee credit. Learn more about receiving insertion fee credits.

  • Relisted items count towards your monthly free insertion fee listings.

  • When you relist an item, your listing might not be searchable in a keyword or category search for several hours.

  • If you choose to relist your item automatically, you won't be able to relist it manually until the automatic relisting period on that listing is over. You can also relist your item manually if the automatic relist was unsuccessful.

A note about manually relisted items that use the automatically relist feature:

If your item didn't sell the first time, you can relist the item manually and then you can also choose to relist it automatically once more. In this case, you would be initially responsible for 3 insertion fees: the fee for the original listing, the fee for the manual relisting plus a fee for the automatic relist. In a case like this, if your item sells during the automatic relisting period, we credit your account for the insertion fee for the manually relisted item. Learn more about receiving insertion fee credits.

Relisting tips

If your listing has ended and you'd like to relist your item manually, try these ideas to help your item sell next time:

  • Add pictures

  • Lower your starting price

    • Lowering your starting price may attract more buyers.

  • Improve your title and description

    • Use words in your title that specifically describe your item (like "Chinese Ming Vase" rather than "flower vase"). Remember, if you change your listing's title, it may not be searchable in a keyword or category search for several hours.

    • Avoid words and characters that buyers won't search for (like "L@@k").

  • Re-think the category

  • Add product details

    • Including product details makes it easier for buyers to find your item. If your item's category is associated with a product in our catalogue, we may show you a product from our catalogue and ask you to confirm that it's the same as your item. We may offer you

      product details from our catalogue and a stock photo for your listing.

    • Product details may also be available as you're relisting products in bulk. We'll walk you through adding product details to one item at a time.

Adding product details

If you didn't provide product details in a Good 'Til Cancelled listing, your listing may be cancelled. To add product details:

Contact Customer Service

If you're looking for more help or have a question to ask, contact us.

Contact us

Have a question? We can help.

 Contact us

Ask eBay members

Get help from other eBay members. Visit the Answer Centre to post a question.