Is there anything we can do to help?
We value your participation in the eBay community and we'd be sorry to see you go. Before you decide to close any of your accounts with eBay, we'd like to help you solve any problem you might be having.
Closing your eBay account
Here's how to close your eBay account:
Be sure that all your fees are paid and your account balance is zero.
Resolve any suspensions or restrictions.
Do not have any open bids.
If you need help, contact us.
Quick answers about closing your eBay account
Will my account be closed immediately?
No, there's a waiting period to ensure that any transactions you made are complete.
During the waiting period, you won't be able to bid, make purchases, list items, or change your contact information, but you'll still have access to your account information.
When the waiting period is over, you'll receive an email confirming that your account is closed.
Can I reopen my account?
No, you can't reopen your account with the same user ID or email address, but you can create a new account.
If you change your mind about closing your account during the waiting period, contact us to cancel your account closure.
What happens to my account after it's closed?
You'll no longer be able to use the user ID or email address associated with your closed account to access any part of eBay that requires an account, and your Feedback profile will no longer be available to other members.
Can I close my account if it's been suspended or restricted?
If your account has been suspended or restricted, you will need to contact us to see if it is eligible for closure.
Can I close my account if it's currently below standard?
If your account is no longer meeting minimum standards, you will need to contact us to see if it is eligible for closure.
What if I have an outstanding balance on my account?
Before closing your account, make a one-time payment so that there's no balance remaining in your account.
What if there's still money in my account?
Request a refund before you close your account. When you close the account, the account balance must be zero.
What happens to feedback that I've left for others?
The Feedback you've left for other users won't be deleted when you close your account. If your user ID is your email address, you might want to change it before requesting to close your account.
What does eBay do with my personal information after I close my account?
Closing your seller account
If you want to keep your eBay account but no longer want to sell items, you can deactivate your seller account. You'll still be able to bid and make purchases, but if you later want to sell items, you'll have some restrictions.
To deactivate your seller account, remove your payment information for your credit or debit card or bank account. On your seller account page, if you want to remove all your payment methods, select the All payment methods option, and then click the Remove button.
You may continue to accrue fees for any listings you have on the site, as well as monthly fees if you have any active subscriptions such as eBay Shops. Make sure you cancel any subscriptions.
If you have an outstanding balance, please make a one-time payment before you close your seller account. Learn more about making a one-time payment. If you've still got a credit in the account, request a refund.
Closing your PayPal account
You don't have to close your PayPal account when you close your eBay account. However, if you decide to close your PayPal account, you won't be able to make any purchases using PayPal or view your PayPal account history.
To close your PayPal account:
Click the Close Account link in the Account Information column.
Click the Continue button.
Click the Close Account button.
Contact PayPal customer support for help with your PayPal account.
Closing your eBay Shop
When you close your Shop, all of your Shop inventory listings will end.
To close your eBay Shop:
In the Account tab, click the Subscriptions link.
Find eBay Shop in the list, and click the Unsubscribe button.
Contact us if you need help.